Boooooooooo**** booooooooo****
**** throws tomato ****
Stupid jokes, right? Harmless, stupid jokes. Not quite. If you run a website, spammers may be targeting you and using your site to illicitly boost their rank in search engines. Posts like this might seem harmless, but they can actually hurt your site's rank in search engines once these sites are identified as spam -- because your site is associated with the spammer! In this case, the remote user probably was running a program that automatically registers and posts to internet forums like this one. Part of the problem is that this site doesn't require new users to register to post (makes you wonder why they went through the trouble of registering -- probably because the program registered to make the post seem like a new user, less likely to be regarded as spam).
But the devil is in the details here. In the user's signature, there was some markup instructing the bulletin board to create a link. For example, I can create a link to a site I like:
INeedAttention.comby using the code:
[
]INeedAttention.com[]
But in this case the user inserted the code:
[
download mp3]
Which of course links to the address:
music.download-madonna-mp3.com/Download-mp3.html
Go to this site and you get a message saying "This site was deleted from hosting". Funny, because they just posted it today. But in any event, I obviously removed the link and blocked the IP address of the spammer. There's no future protection afforded by blocking the IP addresses here since hardcore spammers use botnets anyway (as you'll see). In fact, these spammers are so determined that you will probably get a few posts every couple of days just by having a message board exposed to the internet! So if you run a forum and don't give it as much care as you should, make today the day you go to it and look for strange, off-topic posts or users with strange habits.
Here's the list of accounts that were registered by the spammer, as well as the IP address & host name they were coming from, the email address they used, and some other notes about the host.
These computers all have a couple of things in common (other than that the same hacker is maliciously using them). First note that these are probably compromised servers. They all are overseas, also. Two of them were running Windows Server 2003, with some services (such as Remote Desktop and IIS without an active webpage) were exposed. A few had other services exposed, such as SMTP (obviously a spammer would prefer if the hacked computer could send emails too). If this is all interesting to you but you don't actually want to get this hardcore about tracking the spammer down, you can just click on the IP addresses in the table below and see a Google search for these IPs. They all show up on Google because other people, like me, identify these computers as abusive and tag them. But is that really a solution? No, because I keep getting spam posts (and probably always will). If you build it they will come. But anyway:
| Username | IP (Hostname) | Email | Notes |
| newsjokes77 | 217.10.43.102 (av206-2.comex.ru) | newsjokes77@cashette.com | |
| looqeu | 200.122.132.182 (somewhere in Buenos Aires) | whoops, deleted it! | Mail and Application firewall page open on HTTP port that identifies itself as smtp.lindsay.k12.ca.us; it resolves to dotnetfitnesscenter.net (WHOIS) |
| Gregory124 | 206.78.27.231 | yrtyfghvbnytu6@cashette.com | Server 2003, Remote desktop open, IIS default page |
| StevensonArera | 218.56.144.42 (somewhere in red China) | loginmt@cashette.com | |
| Interneoforums | 66.226.75.89 (66-226-75-89.dedicated.abac.net) | loginmks@cashette.com | Server 2003, Remote desktop open |
| christian_co | 85.141.251.51 (ppp85-141-251-51.pppoe.mtu-net.ru) | christiande2@cashette.com | Unresponsive SMTP server |
| Interneoforumm | 66.226.75.89 (66-226-75-89.dedicated.abac.net) | loginmk@cashette.com | |
| sentimentarin | 217.147.41.147 (traceroute stopped at gate.sugardas.lt, Lithuania) | linruser25@cashette.com | |
| Advertizer2006 | 12.108.203.147 (Identifies itself as server.Albion.Niewohner.com) | loginns@cashette.com | Remote desktop open |
| Strekotok | 84.204.165.213 (definitely in Russia) | kechutkin.yulyan@mail.ru | Remote desktop open, system runs in Russian Windows XP |
| I-want-know | 195.131.214.212 (Deutch!) | www.searchvia.net@cashette.com | |
| viagra12 | 83.237.45.54 (ppp83-237-45-54.pppoe.mtu-net.ru) | dfefefwe@mail.ru | Some daemon on port 25 TCP |
| JiggerLova | 217.172.21.99 (host99-21-172-217.starnet.ru) | jiggerlova@cashette.com | Some daemon on port 25 TCP |
| mr.Asertiovat | 206.51.229.192 (in the US? wow) | pavlii.genadii@mail.ru | Remote desktop open, IIS default page, another SMTP port daemon |
| gratis-casino | 80.134.62.205 (p50863ECD.dip0.t-ipconnect.de) | gratiscasino@users.1go.dk | Unresponsive SMTP server |
| millaerbv | 219.140.165.91 (somewhere in China) | vcv5bbv@cashette.com | Unresponsive SMTP server, running IIS 6.0 + ASP.NET, serves a WML file on port 80 with no content and a title of "MoSpace". This domain also resolves to:
52cao.net (WHOIS) sesewa.com (WHOIS) sexwowo.com (WHOIS) waplian.com (WHOIS) - Active site waptd.com (WHOIS) - Active site xsita.net (WHOIS) |
| seowarez | 200.63.213.2 (2.213.uio.satnet.net) | seowarez@cashette.com | Unresponsive SMTP server, open telnet & HTTP server identifies itself as "Application and Content Networking System Software 5.0.9" by Cisco |
| Comiss79 | 82.179.73.10 (73-10.umostel.ru) | comiss@cashette.com | |
| fantalltheweb | 82.114.69.130 (82.114.69.130) | cbonjourlz@yahoo.com | |
| Fucker | 70.87.87.98 (62.57.5746.static.theplanet.com) | loginr@cashette.com | |
| getfunhere2008 | 61.129.102.208 (61.129.102.208) | logintr@cashette.com | |
| viagra-shop | 202.202.0.92 (202.202.0.92) | viagra@shop.de | |
| movieanimexx | 192.168.6.81 (192.168.6.81) | movieanimexx@cashette.com | |
| Farmatseft666 | 87.248.173.155 (87-248-173-155.starnet.md) | meta1986@cashette.com | |
| splitcam2008 | 88.152.252.29 (bzq-88-152-252-29.red.bezeqint.net) | friendsfinder@yandex.ru | |
| mortgage_loan_s123q1 | 69.231.250.53 (adsl-69-231-250-53.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net) | koryagin.abdula@mail.ru | |
| ntprSid | 206.225.145.34 (hsc-uu-ce.hearstsc.com) | logintpr@cashette.com | |
| Dernik552 | 69.61.78.23 (pixelfresh.co.in) | dernik552@cashette.com | |
My particular favorite Google search result was found while searching for "66.226.75.89":
Hello! I offer the services on dispatch of messages on forums. My site {http://}www.interneo.ru/eng/
Email me interneo{at}list.ru
Efficiency of dispatch on forums:
the Analysis of the existing sites subjected to procedure of registration in forums,
has shown, that 1000 backlink from forums raise PR a site from 100 up to 200 units
(depending on subjects)
Reference ranging: 1000 references with key words from forums allow a site almost
precisely (naturally depending on subjects and a competition) to appear in the first five
in search system
Target visitors: for the first week your announcement will read about 25-30 person at
each forum. For all time of existence of the announcement of it will see 100-200 person
(depending on attendance of a forum).
Practice shows, that dispatch on 1000 forums gives 150 unique, interested in the promoted
goods or service of visitors every day in the first week after dispatch. Then the amount of
visitors is reduced up to 50-100 hosts in day.
Email me interneo{at}list.ru
Opportunities of posting:
• Registration at a forum with editing a profile of the user
• Dispatch on the forums supporting a guest input
• Notices on e-mail about answers at a forum or private messages
• the Opportunity of registration without posting (increases PR Google)
On the ending of dispatch you receive the report on the done work - direct references to
your announcement.
Write to me on interneo{at}list.ru
The prices for mass dispatch on forums:
2)1000 forums - $35/1000
3)4000-6000 forums - $33/1000
4)7000-9000 forums - $31/1000
5)10000-13000 forums - $30/1000
5)20000 forums and more - $20/1000
Total of Russian forums - 45.000
Amount of English-speaking forums - 70.000
Upon end of dispatch the full report - direct references to your announcement is given.
UNIQUE software for dispatch on forums - 1500$. Bypasses all protection, all is
automated!!!
Email me interneo{at}list.ru
IP : 66.226.75.89
Last updated: 6/10/2006 18:05 EDT